From the Robin Wood deck

I love the Wheel of Fortune, although not particularly the Robin Wood rendering of it. Even when it appears reversed in readings it offers me hope for better times ahead.

The phrase it brings to mind is one I used a lot in the months leading up to our departure from England – ‘Fortune favours the brave.’

To me it means this: No matter where on the wheel you sit, live it to the full. When Fortune smiles at you, grab it with both hands and relish it, when it’s your turn to cry, take courage in the promise that good times will in their course come again.

There is also the promise of growth, of new challenges and horizons – we are on an ever-turning wheel and the challenge of life itself is to recognise that we do not stand still and we are in a constant state of flux and growth.

I thought of Bobby Dylan too and his sage advice in The Times They Are a Changin’ –

but don’t speak too soon, for the wheel’s still in spin

and there’s no telling who that it’s naming

for the loser now will be later to win

for the times they are a changin’

 That’s why I like this card –because it reminds me that it’s only by looking back that you can say for sure whether your ‘luck’ at the time was good or bad, and only in hindsight can you truly name what you have won and what you have lost, and how the two weigh against each other.

Looking back on the ‘bad’ of the catastrophe of my marriage break-up, I have to say that it turned out really to be the best thing that could have happened to me. And of course on the two occasions I faced redundancy at work, time and again people said I would look back on it as the ‘best thing that could have happened.’ And they were right.

Don’t speak too soon. That wheel is still in spin. And that’s not a bad thing to remember.

