From the Robin Wood Tarot

The 6 Wands is lovely – it tells you to sit back and take the praise, enjoy your success because it’s fully deserved.

Reversed, as it is today, it seems to either denote ‘empty’ or insincere praise or an inability to simply accept praise when it’s given.

Bottlebrush helps to cope with major life transitions – such as adolescence (you know what’s coming) and also for unresolved mother-child issues (yup, you got it!).

First thought of course is to take a reminder – as if I need one – not to neglect my relationship with Kate while delving self-indulgently into my past. Duly noted, and noted, too, the little opportunity taken there by the Guilt Monster to suggest otherwise.

I’m not very trusting at the moment of my First Thought on things. So I’ll look a little closer and suddenly it occurs to me that the reversed 6 Wands could also be about difficulties in giving praise.

It is about Kate and me, but not an unnecessary memo about remembering to be a good mum.

As I have said before, adolescence is a bit of a rocky road for us both.

And Bottlebrush is actually a great essence for the bonding between anxious new mums and their babies.

It makes perfect sense to me that it should have a role in other transitional stages that mother and child go through together and a glance at its other attributes doesn’t change my mind – serenity while adjusting to change anyone?

There’s a connection, too, to the reversed 6 Wands.

When I wrote earlier in this entry about it denoting empty praise, I immediately thought of my own mother. That’s a sad and tiresome reminder of a bit more emotional work I need to be getting on with.

Our relationship seems to always have been troubled, more than troubled.

For now, suffice to say that it’s hard for a child, no matter what age, to feel the cold shoulder of indifference from their mother. When praise does come, it comes late and is over-done (through guilt, of course), making it feel very empty indeed.

If I find receiving praise embarrassing, which I do, then I’d better make sure I’m up to speed on how I give praise to my daughter.

How I deal with Kate’s adolescence is inextricably bound with how my mother dealt with mine. Scary thought.

If I am not to repeat the mistakes of the past, I need to be fully aware of them.

