From the Robin Wood Tarot

The Knights are all about movement and action – and none more so than the Knight of Wands – but also about a developing social sense, about finding your place in the world.

Today’s Knight is reversed and a possible consequence of the blocked energy of a bold Knight of Wands could be to avoid passion, excitement and adventure. Isn’t it sometimes safer that way?

Which brings us to Tall Mulla Mulla – the loner’s essence.

Tall Mulla Mulla is for people who prefer their own company and enjoy being alone. Nothing wrong with that, per se, but we are social animals and can wither like a limb deprived of blood without the emotional circulation which we derive from our relationships.

Today’s cards show me a sad similarity between Jason and myself. He has always said that he prefers to be alone and I have always said that I do not. There is the hopelessness of that little romance in a nutshell.

But that’s not what I want to talk about today. Today it’s enough to point out that, after all the passion and pain of my father’s passing, I seek solitude and quiet while life goes on steadily and rather remarkably around me.

If I may use today’s cards as a metaphor for the past week, I’m a Tall Mulla Mulla loner shutting myself off from all the movement and action that is my Wandsy fire sign nature. Picture the Knight on a horse, reins hanging loosely, withdrawn and directionless. After the battle comes exhaustion and sorrow.

Good thing my horse knows which way to go.

After the glamour of my last temp assignment, I was next placed with the Education Department for a dreary data entry job that was supposed to last six weeks.

Three days in, and I was ready to resume my toilet scrubbing duties when Lady Fate, in the guise of a friend of cousin Janis, called and offered me a temporary posting in what I shall call, in honour of Mr Charles Dickens, the Circumlocution Department.

This would keep me employed until the end of December if I could start right away.

Naturally, I grabbed it and am now directly employed by the government, rather than through an agency, which is an All-Round Good Thing.

I spent the first few days filling in for the receptionist in the Circumlocution Minister’s office.

This meant fielding a lot of calls from the Great, the Good and the Generally Dissatisfied. It was spookily similar to my days on the local paper back in England, except that I didn’t have to write a story, just find the right person to help them.

I sat in a nice big office with the Minister’s chauffeur, who showed me how to play Mahjong on the computer while the last tea lady in the public service kept us supplied with good coffee and biscuits.

The deal is that I will cover for the receptionist when she goes on maternity leave in a few weeks’ time.

In the meantime, I’m now working as a lowly document tracker in the department, where we bring our own coffee (instant) and our biscuits are discreetly hidden in bottom drawers, so as not to offend the dieting.

I wouldn’t claim that any ambitions are fulfilled or even reached for, but I am enjoying for the moment my little berth in this relatively serene harbour.

It’s been a difficult year to date, with far too many tears for one small person to have shed.

I hope, above all else, that I can sit awhile quietly here, waiting either for something better to come along or the impetus to go looking for it.

