From the Robin Wood Tarot

The day I drew these cards was dreadful.

A letter came from college inviting me to the graduation ceremony, including an enquiry as to my size for cap and gown.

There was just one thing I wanted to give my dad before he died and that was a photograph of me in cap and gown. Now it’s too late.

So I cried, long and hard and hurting – the tears that come from deep, deep inside and leave me drained and empty.

I cried and cried until I could cry no more. And then I washed my face and got on with my day.

Big mistake.

By not giving myself time and space to recover from that outpouring of emotion, I was left unprepared for the next challenge of the day – the possibility of a drop-in visit from a particularly loathsome relation who is in town. It is a mark of difficult relatives that they strive to keep you in suspense about their movements.

Thankfully she didn’t come but so distressed was I at the prospect of an afternoon of picking through the minutiae of ancient family history that I ended up locked in the house so she would think I was out and go away.

I lay on the sofa with a splitting head and a heaving stomach. It’s been a long time since I’ve done that.

Finally I remembered my cards of the week, the Wheel of Fortune and Fringed Violet.

If I’ve learned anything, surely it is how better to care for myself at these inevitable times when the Wheel judders and throws me off balance.

And when those tears come, from deep, deep inside they speak of old wounds and stored trauma. To open them up leaves me vulnerable and exposed.

Fringed Violet addresses the damage done to the aura by these old wounds. It restores psychic protection and reintegrates the physical and etheric bodies.

Next time – and of course there will be a next time – I will take better care of myself, from the outset.

